Unlimited evening travel on Transport for Wales services around Cardiff and the Welsh Valley lines and on the first train back to the original station the following morning.

Valley Lines Nightrider ticket

The ticket is also valid on all Stagecoach South Wales buses and on Thomas of Rhondda buses.


The Valleys Nightrider allows travel after 18:30 on the Welsh Valley lines to Maesteg, Treherbert, Aberdare, Merthyr Tydfil, Coryton, Rhymney and Ebbw Vale as well as routes around Cardiff to Penarth, Cardiff Bay, Barry Island and over the Vale of Neath line.

It is also valid on the main line between Cardiff and Bridgend but not on GWR services.

It is also valid for a return journey on the first train departing the original destination the following morning.


Transport for Wales website
Transport for Wales route map
A Day Ranger is also available.

Ticket Issuing System details:  name  /  code  /  group

fares & restrictions

Fares from 3rd March 2024

adult: £8.20
child: no child fare
railcards: no

Previous fares ⯈ Previous fares (adult):
2023 - £7.90
2022 - £7.50
2021 - £7.50
2020 - £7.50
2019 - £7.00
2018 - £7.00
2014 - £5.50
2011 - £4.30

route restrictions
Not valid to Newport
Not valid on GWR trains

time restrictions
Valid after 18:30

train operating companies
Transport for Wales

Online: X
Train conductor: *
Station ticket office:
Ticket Vending Machine (TVM): i Northern Ticket Vending Machines now sell most ranger and rover tickets but at the moment only for same-day travel (rather prohibitive for distant areas)

Some Avanti West Coast station TVMs for example Crewe, now sell local rangers and rovers.

A number of PTE areas sell local rangers from TVMs in their area e.g. South Yorkshire, Strathclyde and West Midlands


Valleys Nightrider route map

Valley Lines Nightrider route map

This ticket is valid at these national network stations:

Aber; Abercynon; Aberdare
Bargoed; Barry; Barry Docks; Barry Island; Birchgrove; Bridgend; Brithdir
Cadoxton; Caerphilly; Cardiff Bay; Cardiff Central; Cardiff Queen Street; Cathays; Cogan; Coryton; Crosskeys; Cwmbach
Danescourt; Dinas Powys; Dinas Rhondda; Dingle Road
Eastbrook; Ebbw Vale Parkway; Ebbw Vale Town; Energlyn & Churchill Park
Fairwater; Fernhill
Garth; Gilfach Fargoed; Grangetown
Heath High Level; Heath Low Level; Hengoed
Lisvane & Thornhill; Llanbradach; Llandaf; Llanharan; Llanhilleth; Llanishen; Llantwit Major; Llwynypia
Maesteg; Maesteg Ewenny Road; Merthyr Tydfil; Merthyr Vale; Mountain Ash
Newbridge; Ninian Park
Penarth; Pencoed; Pengam; Penrhiwceiber; Pentre-Bach; Pontlottyn; Pontyclun; Pontypridd; Porth; Pye Corner
Quakers Yard
Radyr; Rhiwbina; Rhoose Cardiff Airport; Rhymney; Risca & Pontymister; Rogerstone
Taffs Well; Tir-Phil; Ton Pentre; Tondu; Tonypandy; Trefforest; Trefforest Estate; Trehafod; Treherbert; Treorchy; Troed-y-rhiw; Ty Glas
Waun-Gron Park; Whitchurch; Wildmill
Ystrad Mynach; Ystrad Rhondda; Ynyswen