Unlimited off-peak travel for one day on Transport for Wales services around Cardiff and the Welsh Valleys.

Explore Cardiff & Valleys ticket

Also valid on all Stagecoach South Wales buses and on Thomas of Rhondda buses.


The Explore Cardiff & Valleys day ranger allows travel on the Welsh Valley lines to Maesteg, Treherbert, Aberdare, Merthyr Tydfil, Coryton, Rhymney and Ebbw Vale as well as routes around Cardiff to Penarth, Cardiff Bay, Barry Island and over the Vale of Glamorgan line.

It is also valid on the main line between Cardiff and Bridgend but not on GWR services.


Transport for Wales website
Transport for Wales route map

see also:
Explore the Capital Day Ranger - a smaller area around Cardiff
An Evening Ranger is also available

Ticket Issuing System details:  name  /  code  /  group

This ticket has restriction code B2

fares & restrictions

Fares from 3rd March 2024

adult: £14.60
child (5-15): £7.30
16-17 saver: £7.30
railcards ⯆
 16 26 SE DI 2T H V: £9.60
 V child fare: £2.75
Railcards ⯈ Railcards:
16 = 16-25
26 = 26-30
SE = Senior
DI = Disabled
2T = Two Together
H = HM Forces
V = Veterans

Previous fares ⯈ Previous fares (adult):
2023 - £14.00
2022 - £13.50
2021 - £13.50
2020 - £13.50
2019 - £13.00
2018 - £13.00
2014 - £11.00
2011 - £9.10

time restrictions
Mon to Fri: valid from 09:30

No restrictions at weekends, bank holidays or on buses

route restrictions
Not valid to Newport
Not valid on GWR trains

train operating companies
Transport for Wales

Online :
Train conductor: *
Station ticket office:
Ticket Vending Machine (TVM): i Northern Ticket Vending Machines now sell most ranger and rover tickets but at the moment only for same-day travel (rather prohibitive for distant areas)

Some Avanti West Coast station TVMs for example Crewe, now sell local rangers and rovers.

A number of PTE areas sell local rangers from TVMs in their area e.g. South Yorkshire, Strathclyde and West Midlands


Explore Cardiff & Valleys route map

Explore Cardiff & Valleys route map

This ticket is valid at these national network stations:

Aber; Abercynon; Aberdare
Bargoed; Barry; Barry Docks; Barry Island; Birchgrove; Bridgend; Brithdir
Cadoxton; Caerphilly; Cardiff Bay; Cardiff Central; Cardiff Queen Street; Cathays; Cogan; Coryton; Crosskeys; Cwmbach
Danescourt; Dinas Powys; Dinas Rhondda; Dingle Road
Eastbrook; Ebbw Vale Parkway; Ebbw Vale Town; Energlyn & Churchill Park
Fairwater; Fernhill
Garth; Gilfach Fargoed; Grangetown
Heath High Level; Heath Low Level; Hengoed
Lisvane & Thornhill; Llanbradach; Llandaff; Llanharan; Llanhilleth; Llanishen; Llantwit Major; Llwynypia
Maesteg; Maesteg Ewenny Road; Merthyr Tydfil; Merthyr Vale; Mountain Ash
Newbridge; Ninian Park
Penarth; Pencoed; Pengam; Penrhiwceiber; Pentre-Bach; Pontlottyn; Pontyclun; Pontypridd; Porth; Pye Corner
Quakers Yard
Radyr; Rhiwbina; Rhoose Cardiff Airport; Rhymney; Risca & Pontymister; Rogerstone
Taffs Well; Tir-Phil; Ton Pentre; Tondu; Tonypandy; Trefforest; Trefforest Estate; Trehafod; Treherbert; Treorchy; Troed-y-rhiw; Ty Glas
Waun-Gron Park; Whitchurch; Wildmill
Ystrad Mynach; Ystrad Rhondda; Ynyswen