Unlimited off-peak travel for any 4 days in an 8 day period or 7 consecutive days.

North East Rover ticket

It extends from Berwick-upon-Tweed in the north to Sheffield, Retford and Gainsborough in the south and from Carlisle and Huddersfield in the west to Whitby, Scarborough, Hull and Cleethorpes in the east.


The North East Rover allows travel between Berwick-upon-Tweed, Newcastle, York and Retford on the East Coast Main Line.

Across country you can travel between Carlisle, Whitby and Saltburn via Newcastle, Sunderland and Middlesbrough; between Bradford, Leeds, York and Hull and Scarborough; and between Sheffield and Cleethorpes via either Doncaster or Retford as well as the branch lines to Bishop Auckland, Ilkley, Saltburn, Whitby and Barton-on-Humber.

Scenic and coastal lines included are the Settle & Carlisle line, the Tyne Valley line between Carlisle and Newcastle and the Yorkshire Wolds Coast line between Hull and Scarborough.


Northern website
Northern route map

see also:
North Country Rover - 4 in 8 day rover slightly cheaper smaller area

Ticket Issuing System details:  name  /  code  /  group

This ticket has restriction code B3

fares & restrictions

Fares from 3rd March 2024

4 in 8 days:

adult: £126.90
child (5-15): £63.45
16-17 saver: £63.45
railcards ⯆
 16 26 SE DI 2T FF H V: £83.75
 FF H V child fare: £24.10

7 days:

adult: £145.70
child (5-15): £72.85
16-17 saver: £72.85
railcards ⯆
 16 26 SE DI 2T FF H V: £96.15
 FF H V child fare: £27.65
Railcards ⯈ Railcards:
16 = 16-25
26 = 26-30
SE = Senior
DI = Disabled
2T = Two Together
FF = Family & Friends
H = HM Forces
V = Veterans

Previous fares ⯈ Previous fares (adult)
4 in 8 days:
2023 - £120.90
2022 - £114.20
2021 - £107.20
2020 - £107.20
2019 - £104.20
2018 - £101.00
2014 - £92.00
2011 - £79.00
7 days:
2023 - £138.80
2022 - £131.10
2021 - £123.10
2020 - £123.10
2019 - £119.70
2018 - £116.00
2014 - £106.00
2011 - £92.00

time restrictions
Mon to Fri: valid from 09:00 but 2T railcard not valid until 09:30

No restrictions at weekends or bank holidays

route restrictions
Not valid on Grand Central or Hull Trains

train operating companies
CrossCountry, London North Eastern Railway, Lumo, Northern, TransPennine Express

Online: X
Train conductor: *
Station ticket office:
Ticket Vending Machine: i Northern Ticket Vending Machines now sell most ranger and rover tickets but at the moment only for same-day travel (rather prohibitive for distant areas)

Some Avanti West Coast station TVMs for example Crewe, now sell local rangers and rovers.

A number of PTE areas sell local rangers from TVMs in their area e.g. South Yorkshire, Strathclyde and West Midlands


North East Rover route map

North East Rover route map

This ticket is valid at these national network stations:

Acklington; Adwick; Allens West; Alnmouth; Althorpe; Appleby; Armathwaite; Arram
Baildon; Bardon Mill; Barnetby; Barnsley; Barrow Haven; Barton-on-Humber; Batley; Battersby; Bempton; Ben Rhydding; Bentley; Berwick-upon-Tweed; Beverley; Billingham; Bingley; Bishop Auckland; Blaydon; Bolton-on-Dearne; Bradford Forster Square; Bradford Interchange; Bramley; Brampton; Bridlington; Brigg; Brighouse; Broomfleet; Brough; Burley-in-Wharfedale; Burley Park
Carlisle; Castleford; Castleton Moor; Cattal; Chapeltown; Chathill; Chester-le-Street; Church Fenton; Cleethorpes; Commondale; Conisbrough; Cononley; Corbridge; Cottingham; Cottingley; Cramlington; Crossflatts; Cross Gates; Crowle
Danby; Darlington; Darnall; Darton; Deighton; Dent; Dewsbury; Dinsdale; Doncaster; Driffield; Dunston; Durham
Eaglescliffe; East Garforth; Eastrington; Egton; Elsecar
Featherstone; Ferriby; Filey; Fitzwilliam; Frizinghall
Gainsborough Central; Gainsborough Lea Road; Garforth; Gargrave; Garsdale; Gilberdyke; Glaisdale; Glasshoughton; Goldthorpe; Goole; Goxhill; Great Coates; Great Ayton; Grimsby Docks; Grimsby Town; Grosmont; Guiseley; Gypsy Lane
Habrough; Halifax; Haltwhistle; Hammerton; Harrogate; Hartlepool; Hatfield & Stainforth; Haydon Bridge; Headingley; Healing; Heighington; Hellifield; Hensall; Hessle; Heworth; Hexham; Horden; Hornbeam Park; Horsforth; Horton-in-Ribblesdale; Howden; Huddersfield; Hull; Hunmanby; Hutton Cranswick
James Cook University Hospital
Keighley; Kildale; Kirkby Stephen; Kirk Sandall; Kirton Lindsey; Kiveton Bridge; Kiveton Park; Knaresborough; Knottingley
Langwathby; Lazonby & Kirkoswald; Lealholm; Leeds; Longbeck; Long Preston; Low Moor
Malton; Manors; Marske; Marton; Meadowhall; Menston; MetroCentre; Mexborough; Micklefield; Middlesbrough; Mirfield; Moorthorpe; Morley; Morpeth
Nafferton; Newcastle; New Clee; New Holland; New Pudsey; Newton Aycliffe; Normanton; Northallerton; North Road-Darlington; Nunthorpe
Pannal; Pegswood; Pontefract Baghill; Pontefract Monkhill; Pontefract Tanshelf; Poppleton; Prudhoe
Ravensthorpe; Rawcliffe; Redcar British Steel; Redcar Central; Redcar East; Retford; Ribblehead; Riding Mill; Rotherham Central; Ruswarp
Saltaire; Saltburn; Saltmarsh; Sandal & Agbrigg; Scarborough; Scunthorpe; Seaham; Seamer; Seaton Carew; Selby; Settle; Sheffield; Sherburn-in-Elmet; Shildon; Shipley; Shireoaks; Skipton; Sleights; Snaith; South Bank; South Elmsall; South Milford; Stallingborough; Starbeck; Steeton & Silsden; Stocksfield; Stockton; Streethouse; Sunderland; Swinton
Tees-side Airport; Thirsk; Thornaby; Thorne North; Thorne South; Thornton Abbey; Thurnscoe
Ulceby; Ulleskelf
Wakefield Kirkgate; Wakefield Westgate; Weeton; Wetheral; Whitby; Whitley Bridge; Widdrington; Wombwell; Woodhouse; Woodlesford; Worksop; Wressle; Wylam
Yarm; York