Unlimited travel (with exceptions for Inverness and Aberdeen) for any 4 days in an 8 day period.

Highland Rover Ticket

It includes the whole of the West Highland line from Glasgow Queen Street/Glasgow Central to Oban, Fort William and Mallaig as well as all routes north of Inverness, east to Aberdeen and south to Aviemore.


The Highland Rover is separated into two parts. One part allows travel between Glasgow, Oban, Fort William and Mallaig over the West Highland line. The second part is between Inverness, Kyle of Lochalsh, Wick and Thurso on the Far North line and south of Inverness to Aberdeen and Aviemore.

You cannot travel by rail between the two parts (as there is no northern connection) but you can by coach as the rover is also valid on Scottish CityLink and West Coast Motors between Oban, Fort William and Inverness.

It can also be used on Caledonian-MacBrayne ferry services between Oban and Mull and between Mallaig and Skye and there may be a 20% discount on Northlink Ferries to Orkney & Shetland.

A 10% discount may be available on both the Strathspey Steam Railway and the Keith & Dufftown Railway.

The rover is also valid on Stagecoach Highland buses between Thurso and Scrabster and on Scottish Citylink / West Coast Motors services between Oban-Fort William-Inverness.


Scotrail website
Scotrail route map
Strathspey Steam Railway website
Keith & Dufftown Railway website

Ticket Issuing System details:  name  /  code  /  group

prices & restrictions

As at 1st January 2023

adult: £95.00
child (5-15): £47.50
railcards ⯆: £62.50
  16 26 SE DI 2T FF
FF child fare: £18.05

For list of railcards see below

time restrictions
Mon to Fri: not valid on trains timed to arrive at Aberdeen or Inverness before 09:00 otherwise valid anytime but 2T railcard not valid until 09:30

No restrictions at weekends or bank holidays

route restrictions
Not valid on "The Jacobite" steam-hauled services between Fort William and Mallaig
Not valid on London North Eastern Railway

train operating companies

Online as an M-pass to a smartphone:
Station ticket office:
Station TVM: X
Train conductor: *
Buy on the day:
Buy in advance:


Highland Rover route map

Highland Rover route map

This ticket is valid at these national network stations:

Aberdeen; Achanalt; Achnasheen; Achnashellach; Alness; Altnabreac; Anderston; Anniesland; Ardgay; Ardlui; Arisaig; Arrochar & Tarbet; Ashfield; Attadale; Aviemore
Banavie; Beasdale; Beauly; Bowling; Bridge of Orchy; Brora
Cardross; Carrbridge; Clydebank; Connel Ferry; Conon Bridge; Corpach; Corrour; Crianlarich; Culrain
Dalmally; Dalmuir; Dalreoch; Dingwall; Drumchapel; Drumry; Duirinish; Dumbarton Central; Dumbarton East; Duncraig; Dunrobin Castle; Dyce
Elgin; Exhibition Centre
Falls of Cruachan; Fearn; Forres; Forsinard; Fort William
Garelochhead; Garscadden; Garve; Georgemas Junction; Gilshochill; Glasgow Central; Glenfinnan; Golspie
Helensburgh Helmsdale; Upper; Huntly; Hyndland
Insch; Invergordon; Inverness; Invershin; Inverurie
Keith; Kelvindale; Kildonan; Kilpatrick; Kinbrace; Kintore; Kyle of Lochalsh
Lairg; Lochailort; Loch Awe; Loch Eil Outward Bound; Locheilside; Lochluichart
Mallaig; Maryhill; Morar; Muir of Ord
Partick; Plockton; Possilpark & Parkhouse
Rannoch; Rogart; Roy Bridge
Scotstounhill; Singer; Spean Bridge; Strathcarron; Stromeferry; Summerston
Tain; Taynuilt; Thurso; Tulloch; Tyndrum Lower
Upper Tyndrum
Westerton; Wick