Unlimited off-peak travel for any 4 days in an 8 day period. The ticket is also valid on buses for all 8 days.

The area includes the whole of Wales and extends eastwards to Chester, Crewe, Shrewsbury, Hereford and Gloucester.

Explore wales Pass

It is also valid on First South and West Wales, Cardiff Bus, Arriva Bus Wales and Stagecoach South Wales bus services. Bus travel and other discounted facilities are available on any day in the chosen period, even if that day is not selected for rail travel.


The Explore Wales Pass allows travel from Crewe to Holyhead on the North Wales coast line plus the Llandudno and Blaneau Ffestiniog branches and from Gloucester through Cardiff and Swansea to the ports of Pembroke Dock, Milford Haven and Fishguard Harbour in south west Wales.

It includes the Cambrian and the Cambrian Coast lines from Shrewsbury to Machynlleth, Pwllheli and Aberystwyth. All the Welsh valley lines are included and the whole of the Central Wales Line between Swansea, Llanelli and Shrewsbury and the Marches Line between Newport and Hereford.

These heritage railways may offer discounts: Dean Forest Railway; Fairbourne Railway; Ffestiniog & Welsh highland Railway; Gwili Railway; Llanberis Lake Railway; Talyllyn Railway and the Vale of Rheidol Railway, you will need to contact them for details.


Transport for Wales website
Dean Forest Railway
Fairbourne Railway website
Ffestiniog & Welsh highland Railway website
Gwili Railway
Llanberis Lake Railway
Talyllyn Railway website
Vale of Rheidol Railway website

Ticket Issuing System details:  name  /  code  /  group

This ticket has restriction code B1

prices & restrictions

Fares from 5th March 2023

adult: £104.00
child (5-15): £52.00
16-17 saver: £52.00
railcards ⯆
 16 26 SE DI 2T H V: £68.60
 V child fare: £19.75
Railcards ⯈ Railcards:
16 = 16-25
26 = 26-30
SE = Senior
DI = Disabled
2T = Two Together
H = HM Forces
V = Veterans

time restrictions
Mon to Fri: valid from 09:30

Valid anytime between Llandudno and Blaneau Ffestiniog on Conwy Valley services; Swansea and Shrewsbury via Llandrindod; between Aberystwyth, Machynlleth and Pwllheli; between Fishguard Harbour, Milford Haven, Pembroke Dock and Carmarthen; and between Wrexham Central and Shotton

No restrictions at weekends, bank holidays or on buses

train operating companies
Avanti West Coast, CrossCountry, Great Western Railway, Transport for Wales

Online: X
Train conductor: *
Station ticket office:
Ticket Vending Machine (TVM): i Northern Ticket Vending Machines now sell most ranger and rover tickets but at the moment only for same-day travel (rather prohibitive for distant areas)

Some Avanti West Coast station TVMs for example Crewe, now sell local rangers and rovers.

A number of PTE areas sell local rangers from TVMs in their area e.g. South Yorkshire, Strathclyde and West Midlands


Explore Wales Pass route map

Explore Wales Pass route map

This ticket is valid at these national network stations:

Aber; Abercynon; Aberdare; Aberdovey; Abererch; Abergavenny; Abergele & Pensarn; Aberystwyth; Ammanford
Baglan; Bangor; Bargoed; Barmouth; Barry; Barry Docks; Barry Island; Betws-y-Coed; Birchgrove; Blaenau Ffestiniog; Bodorgan; Borth; Bow Street; Bridgend; Brithdir; Briton Ferry; Broome; Buckley; Bucknell; Builth Road; Bynea
Cadoxton; Caergwrle; Caerphilly; Caersws; Caldicot; Cardiff Bay; Cardiff Central; Cardiff Queen Street; Carmarthen; Cathays; Cefn-y-Bedd; Chepstow; Chester; Chirk; Church Stretton; Cilmeri; Clarbeston Road; Clunderwen; Cogan; Colwyn Bay; Conwy; Coryton; Craven Arms; Crewe; Criccieth; Crosskeys; Cwmbach; Cwmbran; Cynghordy
Danescourt; Deganwy; Dinas Powys; Dinas Rhondda; Dingle Road; Dolau; Dolgarrog; Dolwyddelan; Dovey Junction; Dyffryn Ardudwy
Eastbrook; Ebbw Vale Parkway; Ebbw Vale Town; Energlyn & Churchill Park
Fairbourne; Fairwater; Fernhill; Ferryside; Ffairfach; Fishguard Harbour; Fishguard & Goodwick; Flint
Garth; Gilfach Fargoed; Glan Conwy; Gloucester; Gobowen; Gowerton; Grangetown; Gwersyllt
Harlech; Haverfordwest; Hawarden; Heath High Level; Heath Low Level; Hengoed; Hereford; Holyhead; Hope; Hopton Heath
Kidwelly; Kilgetty; Knighton; Knucklas
Lamphey; Leominster; Lisvane & Thornhill; Llanaber; Llanbedr; Llanbister Road; Llanbradach; Llandaf; Llandanwg; Llandecwyn; Llandeilo; Llandovery; Llandrindod; Llandudno; Llandudno Junction; Llandybie; Llanelli; Llanfairfechan; Llanfairpwll; Llangadog; Llangammarch; Llangennech; Llangynllo; Llanharan; Llanhilleth; Llanishen; Llanrwst; Llansamlet; Llantwit Major; Llanwrda; Llanwrtyd; Llwyngwril; Llwynypia; Ludlow; Lydney
Machynlleth; Maesteg; Maesteg Ewenny Road; Manorbier; Merthyr Tydfil; Merthyr Vale; Milford Haven; Minffordd; Morfa Mawddach; Mountain Ash
Nantwich; Narberth; Neath; Newbridge; Newport; Newtown; Ninian Park; North Llanrwst
Pantyffynnon; Pembrey & Burry Port; Pembroke; Pembroke Dock; Penally; Penarth; Pencoed; Pengam; Penhelig; Penmaenmawr; Penrhiwceiber; Penrhyndeudraeth; Pensarn; Pentre-Bach; Pen-y-Bont; Penychain; Penyffordd; Pontarddulais; Pontlottyn; Pontyclun; Pont-y-Pant; Pontypool & New Inn; Pontypridd; Port Talbot Parkway; Porth; Porthmadog; Prees; Prestatyn; Pwllheli; Pye Corner; Pyle
Quakers Yard
Radyr; Rhiwbina; Rhoose Cardiff Airport; Rhosneigr; Rhyl; Rhymney; Risca & Pontymister; Rogerstone; Roman Bridge; Ruabon
Sarn; Saundersfoot; Severn Tunnel Jn; Shotton; Shrewsbury; Skewen; Sugar Loaf; Swansea
Taffs Well; Talsarnau; Talybont; Tal-y-Cafn; Tenby; Tir-Phil; Ton Pentre; Tondu; Tonfanau; Tonypandy; Trefforest; Trefforest Estate; Trehafod; Treherbert; Treorchy; Troed-y-Rhiw; Ty Croes; Ty Glas; Tygwyn; Tywyn
Waun-Gron Park; Welshpool; Wem; Whitchurch; Whitchurch; Whitland; Wildmill; Wrenbury; Wrexham Central; Wrexham General
Ynyswen; Yorton; Ystrad Mynach; Ystrad Rhondda